top of page
  • Writer's pictureCerissa

My Top 5 Social Media Tips

When I started doing hair it was long enough ago that social media wasn't even a factor. I handed out business cards at the mall, the bar, and everywhere I went to try to get clients to sit in my chair. Now, there are a multitude of ways to get your name out there as a stylist. And it's not just available, it's a necessity.


Over the last two years, I've spent a lot of time and money on educating myself on how to work this new world of branding. Here are just a few of the things I've implemented into my business as a stylist.


1. Perfecting the Layout

By this I mean Instagram Layout specifically. The other thing I keep in mind, is that once you choose a layout it doesn't mean you have to stay that way forever! Following the influencers in your industry can help keep you on the forefront of trends when it comes to layout, color schemes, and photography angles.

2. Smart Hashtagging

Oh, hashtags.... I remember first getting into these, typing out the # and then just staring blankly at my screen waiting for inspiration to strike. Then, I figured out a formula. I pick two or three words/phrases from the following categories and then hashtag away:

When I get stuck, or am just looking for more inspiration, I use the TagO'Matic app on my phone, which lets you search which other hashtags people are using.


One thing to keep in mind with hashtags - if you're trying to grow your business, be careful of tagging too much. Each time a follower/potential follower clicks a hashtag, it takes them away from your page. Staying between 5-15 hashtags is a good rule of thumb to follow.

3. Cross-promoting

You may think I mean cross-promoting with others here, but I actually mean cross promoting yourself! It works like this - in your IG caption, write something about checking out your stories for that day. In your stories (if you're capable), link to your blog or website or latest YouTube/IGTV video. On your Facebook page, share a page or blog post from your website. Just keep redirecting your followers to a different social profile! It may sound silly, but most people use at least two social media accounts, so get them following you everywhere, and provide them with unique content on all of them.

4. Photo Tagging

When you're really new on IG, the algorithm can work against you. So how do you beat it? Photo tagging! Each photo you post is allowed up to 20 tags. Who should you tag, you ask?

  • Repost Accounts in your industry. For me, it's the brands that I use (Wella, R+Co, Unite, etc.)

  • People who you think might be interested in your services. Random tagging is a little intimidating, but you can do it smartly by using the search tool ahead of time to scope out some potential customers.

  • Your friends and family! When you're just starting out, they may not even know you have an account, so tag them and get them in on the love.

  • Bloggers and brand influencers. I will say this one can be tricky, as I'm sure they have plenty of people doing this. But, I have had it work in my favor, and even ended up with some as clients in my chair!

Photo tagging also has the added benefit of showing up on your friend's IG page almost like a page within a page! If you go look at my page now, you'll see who my social butterflies are who tag me constantly....and I love it!!

5. Share the Love!

This one should go without saying, but if all you do is post and expect people to engage in your posts but don't share likes or comments back, then you're doing it wrong. Social media is just that - social. So get out there and do it! That double tap = heart is great, but actually comment on posts. For one, it will make that person you follow aware of who you are, which is great. But it will also make their followers aware of you, which is even better! It expands your visual awareness, so the more you comment, the better visuality you have!


I love that I don't have to actually go anywhere to get clients anymore, other than the comfort of my own home. If I want to, I can engage with potential clients a midnight one day, 8am the next, and then 5pm the day after that. It's an amazing tool we have at our disposal, and it can be used to our advantage.


If you are a hairstylist or salon professional feeling lost with all this, click over to my academy page and request some social media coaching. I got you!

9 views0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page