top of page
  • Writer's pictureCerissa

Full Circle

2024 UPDATE:

Wow if this post wasn't full of ups and downs. Sometimes I surprise myself with how wise I can be. I'm reading the last post, originally published in 2020, at another full circle moment. This time I didn't leave the industry, I pivoted to do something else within in. It was an opportunity to learn and grow, and now I find myself back in training in an industry that runs parallel to the hair industry - health & wellness.


I always had an interest in nutrition from the time I was about 15 years old, and for one reason or another I kept putting it on the back burner. Now, at 40+ and having gone through years of health struggles, I've made a decision to finally go all in.


This year I will become a Certified Personal Trainer and Nutrition Coach. Hair is still in my future, but it's going to be so much more holistic than it ever has been for me. I'm excited for what's to come, and I stand by the last line of my original post. Let's do this!


Original Post 6/15/2020

I've often heard that there are things in life that come "full circle," but I'm convinced that it's not just one circle. It's a chain of circles that intersect and when we come back around in one of those circles we are wiser and more confident than we were when that circle began due to the other circles it intersects.


In January 2015 I left the salon where I had worked for over 5 years to open a salon suite for the first time. Midway through 2016 I left the salon industry entirely. In doing so I felt that I had failed myself, I wasn't happy doing hair, and I had a new baby at home that I needed to provide stability for.


Fast forward to March 2018 - I was ready to make my reentry into the salon world. The salon owner I had worked for prior to going solo had just opened a brand new space, with a business partner, more chairs, and a new game plan. It was the perfect time to head back, and I am grateful that I was able to do so with someone who I knew and felt comfortable with. I also knew in coming back that I needed it to be different to be successful. I did some soul searching, and a whole heck of a lot of education - including business coaching.


Working at Scene North Salon was the best decision I could have made in my career - and just one of those Full Circle moments. I was able to change my mindset, and truly grow as a stylist and as a person and I'll forever be grateful for that opportunity.


But, there was another circle nagging me - that kept telling me it needed to be completed, too. The circle I started in 2015 with my own salon suite, and my subsequent departure has stayed in my mind for years. I have big dreams and goals, and the suite was supposed to be my jumping off point for them. Unfortunately, I got in my own way and none of them happened. I let my negative voice take over and convinced myself I wasn't cut out for ownership, for working by myself, for balancing my life...you name it, I had an excuse.


Now, I know better. I know that I'm worth my dreams, and I know that if I set my mind to it I can make them happen. I have so much more knowledge and experience now. So, it's with great excitement I am happy to announce that it's the SUITE LIFE once again for me!! This full circle moment is just a stepping stone to something so much more. Watch me grow.

90 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page