top of page
  • Writer's pictureCerissa

Honesty is the Best Policy

Years ago, at the first salon where I worked, we did a company retreat and the owners invited a motivational business speaker. I don't remember much of what was said at this point, but there's one thing that really has stuck with me.

Everyone has deal breakers. Those invisible lines we draw that if someone crosses we no longer want anything to do with them. There's no wiggle room. No "well maybe it'll change" or "get better next time" or "talking about it." Just D O N E. And everyone typically has three of these deal breakers.


At the top of my list is honesty. I could go into all of the things from my childhood that play into why this is so important to me, but I'll spare you that. Instead, I'll tell you how this plays into how I operate today, especially as a hair stylist.


The first visit with my clients I always make sure to mention that I'm a very honest stylist. I will let you know if I think the style or color you've chosen won't look good. I always make sure I say this because I know not everyone appreciates that level of honesty. But the thing is, I want that same honesty in return. If you don't like it, I want to know. For real. As I mentioned in my previous post, my clients are my advertisements. I want you to leave feeling your best, and if I missed the mark, I want you to appreciate that I'm willing to fix it.


Honesty is sometimes easier to give than to receive, but it is my number one deal breaker. What's yours?

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page